Someone Responded to My Letter to Goodell…but not the NFL

As my loyal reader know, I mailed a letter to NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell  last month and a number of the major “Official Sponsors of the NFL” letting them know I would be boycotting their products and official league merchandise if/when there was a lockout. Well, the lockout started a couple weeks ago, and so did my mine. I have been waiting patiently to hear back from Mr. Goodell, or any of the sponsors and I finally did this weekend! I received this letter from DirecTV letting me know how much they share my concern about the lockout and the possibility of missing games in 2011:

Feel the Form Letter Love!

 

There’s so much corporate goodness in here, I don’t even know where to start. First of all, I would like to thank the folks at DirecTV for taking the time to write me back. However, it’s not all that surprising that it’s DirecTV that did. Outside of the NFL itself, DirecTV has the most to lose with this lockout, especially if it eats into games this season. I know of a handful of other fans who are going to cancel their NFL Ticket this season in protest for the lockout as well. DirecTV realizes that they are really in the weeds with the lockout, so they are trying to do as much damage control as possible. I’m hoping they are trying to pressure the league to end this work stoppage as quickly as possible.

While I was happy to get a response from DirecTV, this is a straight form letter. No if’s, and’s or but’s about it. It’s rather clear from reading it that they did not take the time to read the letter I wrote, nor take the time to respond to mine with any care. My letter stated that I will be canceling my entire DirecTV subscription when the lockout strikes, yet the letter says that they’re still going to “automatically renew your [NFL Sunday Ticket] subscription at $0 for the 2011 season.” Their incentive to keep me with them is to not charge me for any games until they are certain there will be games? That’s so nice of them! I guess it’s better than what some NFL teams are doing; charging fans for their 2011 season tickets during the lockout.

Of course, this is about what I expected when I sent the letters out. I knew it wasn’t going to make a difference. I knew I wasn’t going to stop the lockout. But it made me feel better than just sitting here and yelling at a wall (i.e. Twitter.)  So once again, thank you DirecTV for responding to my letter. I won’t be taking the time to write you a letter back, but I did want to let you know that the Couch household will be having cable installed tomorrow, and I will finally be calling to cancel my service. I am sure you will make that process as smooth as possible for me.

CouchNote: It’s interesting that someone who talks about how much he cares about the fans like Mr. Goodell doesn’t have the time to return a letter for a fan (or at least have someone else do it.) It’s been almost a month, sir.

About Bill

A man in search of a mission at the age of 40.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Someone Responded to My Letter to Goodell…but not the NFL

  1. John says:

    Bravo sir! I applaud your resolve to fight this indignity! Yes INDIGNITY!!! Seriously, how can you not be offended at a bunch of millionaires and billionaires bickering about how to split up a 6 billion dollar pie. That’s $6, 0 0 0, 0 0 0, 0 0 0 !!! That’s a lot of zero and more than any common fan, like myself, will see in a lifetime. I’m out on this product if it goes much further. I love this sport, especially the Eagles, but cant ignore how offensive this is to EVERY fan of your PRODUCT Mr Goodell. Now answer The Couch wouldja already!?

  2. Wow! When I cancelled my DishNetwork RedZone account I didn’t get as much as a “howdyado”. You truly are a man loved by his satelite company!

Leave a Reply

